2012 ACM SIGKDD Innovation and Service Awards: Nominations due July 1, 2012

Call for Award Nominations
ACM SIGKDD invites your nominations for its 2012 Innovation and Service Awards.

ACM SIGKDD, ACM's Special Interest Group on Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining (KDD), is the premier global professional organization for researchers and professionals dedicated to the advancement of the science and practice of knowledge discovery and data mining. It established the Innovation and Service Awards to recognize outstanding technical and service contributions to the KDD field.

ACM SIGKDD Innovation Award
Innovation Award recognizes one individual or one group of collaborators whose outstanding technical innovations in the field of Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining have had a lasting impact in advancing the theory and practice of the field. The contributions must have significantly influenced the direction of research and development of the field or transferred to practice in significant and innovative ways and/or enabled the development of commercial systems.
The previous SIGKDD Innovation Award winners were Rakesh Agrawal, Jerome Friedman, Heikki Mannila, Jiawei Han, Leo Breiman, Ramakrishnan Srikant, Usama M. Fayyad, Raghu Ramakrishnan, Padhraic Smyth, Christos Faloutsos, and J. Ross Quinlan.

ACM SIGKDD Service Award
Service Award recognizes one individual or one group for their outstanding professional services contributions to the field of knowledge discovery and data mining. Services recognized include significant contributions to the activities of professional KDD societies and conferences, educating students, researchers and practitioners, funding R&D activities, professional volunteer services in disseminating technical information to the field, and contributions to society at large through applications of KDD concepts to improve global medical care, education, disaster/crisis management, environment, etc.
The previous SIGKDD Service Award winners were Gregory Piatetsky-Shapiro, Ramasamy Uthurusamy, Usama M. Fayyad, Xindong Wu, the Weka team led by Ian Witten and Eibe Frank, Won Kim, Robert Grossman, Sunita Sarawagi, Osmar R. Zaiane, and R. Bharat Rao.

Nomination Process
Nominations should include a 1-2 page summary statement justifying the nomination along with other supporting materials. Each nomination should be co- sponsored by at least 3 people. At most one award will be given each year in each category. All communications will be via email. Nominations will be valid for a period of 3 years.
Please email all nomination and support documents by July 1, 2012 to samy at acm dot org with subject line "SIGKDD Award Nomination".
The 2012 awards will be presented at the 18th ACM SIGKDD 2012 Conference in Beijing, China, August 12-16 2012
SIGKDD Chair and members of the SIGKDD Awards Committee are not eligible to be nominated for either Award and are excluded from participating in the nomination process as nominators or as supporters of the nominations.

2012 ACM SIGKDD Awards Committee

  • Chid Apte, IBM Research
  • Christos Faloutsos, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Bing Liu, University of Illinois at Chicago
  • Gregory Piatetsky-Shapiro, KD Nuggets
  • Daryl Pregibon, Google
  • J. Ross Quinlan, Rulequest
  • Ted Senator, SAIC
  • Padhraic Smyth, University of California at Irvine
  • Ramasamy Uthurusamy – Chair
  • Qiang YangHong Kong University of Science and Technology
  • Osmar R. Zaiane, University of Alberta – Past Chair